Emergency Housing Assistance Program

City Council Appoints New Leadership

At its meeting on Dec. 20, the Lakeport City Council welcomed two new members and one re-elected member after the results of the Nov. 8 election were approved.  Brandon Disney and Kim Costa took their oath of office, filling seats vacated by Michael Green and Mireya Turner.  Councilmember   Stacey Mattina was elected to serve a four-year term; Disney and Costa will each serve for two years.

At the same reorganization meeting, Mattina was elected by her peers to serve as Mayor, a position she held during 2022.  The Mayor Pro Tem seat will be filled by Michael Froio.  They are joined on the Council by Kenny Parlet.  The terms of Froio and Parlet expire in December 2024.

At recent special meetings the City Council appointed members to the Planning Commission, Measure Z Advisory Committee (MZAC), Lakeport Economic Development Advisory Committee (LEDAC), and the Lakeport Fire Protection District board.

The Planning Commission was established in 1956 and has land use decision-making authority as defined by the Lakeport zoning ordinance, advising and reporting on planning matters to the City Council. Members are appointed to four-year terms.  Returning to the Commission for another term are Mark Mitchell and Nathan Maxman, along with Kip Knorr who served previously.

On November 8, 2016, Lakeport residents voted to approve Measure Z adopting an ordinance enacting a 1 percent increase to the local sales and use tax. The ordinance calls for an independent citizens’ advisory committee to meet publicly to review all revenues and expenditures of the transactions and use tax and make recommendations to the City Council regarding those expenditures.  Susan King was re-appointed to the Committee and Laura Sombs was appointed to her first four-year term.

In 2010 the Lakeport City Council implemented a recommendation contained in the Lakeport Business Retention and Recruitment Strategy and formed an economic development advisory committee, LEDAC, to be an advocate for a strong and positive Lakeport business community and a conduit between City leadership and the community.  Jeff Davis was appointed to his first term to serve with Bonnie Darling, Denise Combs and Wilda Shock who were re-appointed for another two years.

The Lakeport Fire Protection District is an independent special district serving the greater Lakeport area. Health and Safety Code section 13837 provides that the District board may be either elected or appointed by the city council in which the District is located.  City Council Resolution 2695 (2018) established a protocol for the appointments to the District Board.  Jeff Warrenburg was appointed to serve a four-year term as the newest member of the District board.

For more information, contact Kelly Buendia, Administrative Services Director/City Clerk, (707) 263-5615, Ext. 101, kbuendia@cityoflakeport.com.