City of Lakeport, California

Related Pages

ADA Advisory Committee

LogoThe City completed an accessibility evaluation of its buildings and public places in the fall of 2004.  There was subsequent public input, and staff concurrence recognizing the need to address accessibility issues on the City's streets and sidewalks.  The Traffic Safety Advisory Committee reviewed the matter in depth  and determined that the formation of a sub-committee consisting of City staff, a TSAC representative, and members of the public at large would be an effective, proactive method of addressing areas of concern on the City's streets and sidewalks.

The ADA Advisory Committee was officially formed by the City Council at its November 1, 2005 meeting, and the City Clerk then solicited the public for participation on the committee.  The ADA Advisory Committee conducted its first official organizational meeting on May 22, 2006.  The committee is comprised of seven members as follows:

  • Four voting members of the public at large with a minimum of two of those persons having disabilities.
    • Larry Jacqes, James Dvorak, Sandy Idland, Shane Idland.
  • One non voting member from the Community Development Department.
    • City Engineer.
  • One non voting member from the Public Works Department.
    • Public Works Superintendent
  • One voting member from the Traffic Safety Advisory Committee.
    • Vicki Cole
  • The City Clerk attends the meetings and acts as the committee secretary.


The ADA Advisory Committee has established the following objectives:

  1. Assist with providing ADA access throughout the City of Lakeport on City related facilities.
  2. Bring awareness of ADA barriers to the City Staff.
  3. Prioritize barrier problems utilizing various categories such as sidewalks, curb cuts, etc.  

Curb Ramp PlanThe Committee typically meets on the fourth Monday of the month on a quarterly basis at 2:00 p.m. in the City Council Chambers.  The meetings are open to the public time is allotted for citizens input.  To have a specific concern placed on the agenda for consideration by the committee, please contact the City Clerk, Ms. Janel Chapman, at (707) 263-5615 x.12.